In its default configuration, the ASP.NET 3.5 CreateUserWizard control displays a potentially misleading error message when a user tries to enter a previously-registered User Name. The first error message ("Please enter a different user name") is fine. However, this is accompanied by the clearing of the Password and Confirm Password fields. If the user then enters a new User Name and clicks on the Create User button before filling in the password fields, the "Please enter a different user name" message remains visible, in addition to the red asterisks against the empty password fields.
Inevitably, some users will think that the new User Name is also invalid.
Is there any way to clear previous User Name errors when the User Name checking process is inhibited by other errors?
David
...
Go to the complete details ...